The SprinNG Women Authors Prize (SWAP) is Now Open for Applications

by Lolade Faniyi

In January, the literary organisation, Society for the Promotion, Revitalization, and Improvement of New Nigerian Generations (SprinNG) launched the Women Authors Prize. The prize is to be awarded to a female author who has published an excellent full-length book in print. SprinNG will invest a hundred thousand naira (N100,000) to the purchasing, marketing and distribution of the book nationwide.

The organisers said that this prize was to support and promote women authors in the Nigerian literary space. While only one author can be selected yearly, other entries will also enjoy increased visibility through interviews, book reviews, newsletter promotions and collaboration.

There is no age restriction for this prize, and authors are required to self-nominate. Authors will, however, only be able to submit one book of any genre or theme, for publication. The book must also be available for purchase in Nigeria. The prize opened for applications on July 1, and it will close on September 30 for winners to be announced in January.

Judges had been announced in August including Hauwa Shaffii Nuhu, Eketi Edima Ette, I.S. Jones, and Mona Zutshi Opubor. For more information, visit the website and click to apply for the SWAP here.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twelve − eight =


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email