Nigerian Writer Okojie Wins 2020 Caine Prize for African Writing

Nigerian- British writer, Irenosen Okojie has been awarded the AKO Caine Prize for African Writing 2020 for her short story, titled: Grace Jones, a statement by the Chair of the Prize judging panel, Kenneth Olumuyiwa Tharp, has said.

     The AKO Caine Prize is an annual literary award for the best original short story by an African writer, whether in Africa or elsewhere, but published in the English language. It is named after the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker Plc and Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee for nearly 25 years.

     “In the wake of the Black Lives Matter movement, which has prompted deeply powerful questions about race, justice, and equality in the world today – this story offers a salient exploration of what it can mean to embody and perform Blackness in the world. This is a story of tremendously delicate power and beauty, and one in which we recognise the tradition of African storytelling and imagination at its finest,” Tharp said.

     Ms Okojie was announced the winner of £10,000 (approximately N4.8 million) award prize on Monday afternoon at a virtual unveiling on YouTube, for her short story “Grace Jones” while the other shortlisted writers will receive £500 each.

     The shortlisted authors for this year’s prize are from Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda and Tanzania. Three out of the five writers are Nigerians. One has dual citizenship (Namibia, Rwanda). Ms Okojie was among the three shortlisted Nigerian writers. Others are Chikodili Emelumadu for his short story, ‘What to do when your child brings home a Mami Wata’ and Jowhor Ile for ‘Fisherman’s Stew.’

     “Grace Jones” was published last year in Ms Okojie’s book, “Nudibranch,” her second short story collection and her third book, following her debut novel “Butterfly Fish” and her first collection “Speak Gigantular.”

     The story chronicles the psychological and behavioural changes of the main character, Sidra, a young woman who becomes a celebrity impersonator who is wracked with guilt after her whole family dies in a fire that destroys their London flat.

     Kenneth Tharp, described the journey of Ms Okojie’s main protagonist Sidra, a young woman who has moved to London from Martinique as an “exquisite and seamless movement between the exploration of the universal experiences of unspeakable suffering, pleasure and escape, and the particular experience of being black and African in a global city such as London.”

     Reacting to why she chose the story’s subject matter, the Nigerian writer said it was important for her to write experimental fiction that centres on a black woman.

     “I write weird experimental fiction. And I think it’s really important to centre experimental fiction by a black woman like myself, because for a long time, I felt like I was operating on the fringes. People were often quite surprised by my writing, just in terms of subject matter and style,” she said.

     “I’m really passionate about centring the stories of black women and people of colour. It’s important to show their lived experiences,” she said. “But I like to do it couched within these darkly fantastical worlds, pushing the boundaries of form, ideas and language, so the reader has a different experience.”

     Ms Okojie also said she had always found the actual Grace Jones “hugely inspiring”, and wanted to explore “this idea of trying to subvert the pain of the past by hiding under a different character”. She said the award has given her confidence as a black and female experimental writer. She is also currently writing a second novel, but she said she finds the process of short story writing “feverish”, and filled with a “sense of urgency.”

     Other notable Nigerian writers who have previously won the AKO Caine prize for African writing include Lesley Arimah (2019) for “Skinned”; Tope Folarin (2013) for “Miracle”; Rotimi Babatunde (2012) for “Bombay’s Republic”; Segun Afolabi (2003) for “Monday Morning” and Helon Habila (2001) for “Love poems”.

     An anthology containing the five 2020 AKO Caine Prize shortlisted stories will be published in September 2020 by The New Internationalist.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 + 8 =


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)

Follow by Email